Young Women from rural NSW win Leadership Opportunity

Two young leaders from rural New South Wales have won Country to Canberra’s prestigious annual Leadership Competition, for their exceptional entries on how women and girls can empower each other and their communities in times of change. 

Elora Guirguis of Wagga Wagga and Jorja O’Brien of Young will represent NSW at this year’s virtual program, C2C On Screen. This year, there are 15 winners in total. 

“The entries this year were of exceptional quality, and many shared stories of the unique hardships and triumphs of rural life during the COVID-19 pandemic” Country to Canberra CEO Han Worsley said. 

“Elora and Jorja will get to represent their communities and state, in this once-in-a-lifetime leadership opportunity”, Worsley said. 

Traditionally an all-expenses-paid trip to Canberra, this year’s Power Trip has been cancelled due to Covid-19. Instead, the winners will take part in C2C On Screen. For the second year running, winners will participate in a multi-day virtual program, which will play host to a series of events including leadership workshops, meetings with state and federal politicians, and mentorship opportunities. 

“C2COS saw an incredibly successful inaugural year in 2020, and we are proud to announce the return of this innovative program. In the face of the challenges of the past two years, this program provides opportunity and excitement to our rural and remote winners, and we are thrilled to build on the success of 2020 to deliver a memorable experience”, added Worsley. 

Jorja O’Brien of Young is excited for the opportunity to be a part of the highly competitive program. 

“I am proud to be representing my school, and NSW. It’s going to be wonderful to be part of this virtual program for young people in regional, rural, and remote Australia” Ms O’Brien said. 

Elora Guirguis of Wagga Wagga shares a similar sentiment “I’m thrilled to meet other winners and to represent New South Wales when participating in the virtual workshops” she said. 

The other 13 winners selected from the 2021 Leadership Competition are: Clara Linn of Mirboo North VIC, Hannah-Leesha Moodley of Mildura VIC, Millie Patterson of Geraldton WA, Aimee Telford of Bunbury WA, Tegan Senar of Auburn SA, Emily Sparrow of Kapunda SA, Maree Adams of Nhulunbuy NT, Heidi Berry of Paredareme Country TAS, Eloise Piper of Ulverstone TAS, Charlize Appleton of Belyando, Charters Towers QLD, Samantha Dendle of Biloela QLD, Lil O’Connor of Toowoomba QLD and Sithmi Konora of Rockhampton QLD. 

Country to Canberra is also delighted to have unveiled its Top 40 entries online today, with the non-profit passionate about getting as many young women involved in the organisation as possible. 

“C2C’s mission is to empower all young rural women and non-binary people to reach their leadership potential, which is why we run the Leadership Competition. These rural trailblazers are the future, and deserve a seat at the decision-making table,” CEO Worsley said. 

C2C On Screen will occur Nov 22-24, 2021. Media enquiries welcome. Visit: for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts